Burnie High School

Science Investigation Awards 2015

Best Investigation Award (grades 9 and 10) Amy Hicks.

YOUNG scientists from across the Coast have again amazed judges at the University of Tasmania's Science Investigation Awards.

The best young minds from 14 schools across the region converged on the Cradle Coast campus yesterday to show off months of work, which chief judge Anna Paice said was again of very high quality.

"What I am noticing is it is becoming more responsive to real-life applications for their science," Ms Paice said.

"They are starting to think about the problems they see in the media and responding rather than just finding a problem in a science textbook and reproducing it."

This was reflected in the winners of the two major awards at the event, which boasted prizes valued at $13,000 this year.

Read the full story on The Advocate website

Story courtesy of The Advocate

Pictures by Stuart Wilson, The Advocate

 Best Investigation Award (grades 7 and 8) Maeve Grieve.

 Arnaka Bourn, Sharalyn Walter and Georgie Blake.

 Rayne McCreadie, of Direct Edge Manufacturing, and Liam Grieve.

 Cheryl Wells, of the Emu Bay Lions Club, Isabella Kidd, Apryl Radford, Avalon Starick and Riley Kirkland.


Leonie Hiscutt, Taylor Rand and Laura Smith.

Taylah Williams, Zoe Dallas and Rachael Stitz.

Ashley Cumming, Amber Hodgetts and Katie Saltmarsh.

Zac Ollington and Mathew Kemp.